This listing was not verified.
If you are the owner of this address, please contact us and get this address verified.

Visakhapatnam timeline  

Visakhapatnam timeline or Vizag timeline.

Visakhapatnam till now.

260 BCE : Ashoka conquered the Kalinga empire (of which Vizag was a part).


208 A.D. : Chandra Sri Satakarni was king of this region.


14th Century : Simhachalam Temple built.


1515 A.D. : Krishna Deva Raya was ruler of the area comprising Vizag.


17th Century : A factory was founded in "Vizagapatam" by the British East India Company.


1689 : This factory was occupied by the forces of Aurangzeb.


1735 : Dutch Colony was established.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

1765 : The territory of the Northern Circars, of which Vizag was a part, ceded to the East India Company on dissolution of the Moghul Empire. Following this, a British colony was established.


1803 : District made a Collectorate.


1858 : Municipal Association started in Vizag.


1866 : It became Vizag Municipality.


1876 : Original Light house on Dolphin's Nose knocked down in a cyclone.


1877 : Chapel built on Ross Hill. Now known as 'Hill Chapel'.

1904 : Railway from Madras to Calcutta, passing through 'Vizagapatam' was opened.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

1926 : Andhra University established.


7th Oct, 1933 : Visakhapatnam Port established.


1935 : First private four wheeler registered, number MDV 5, later on changed to APB 5.


193* : First commercial air taxi for Vizag, owned by a German national.


193* : Imperial Bank, the first bank in Vizag established.


6th April, 1942 : Japanese war planes attacked Vizag.


1947 : Eastern Naval Command established its base here. Prior to our independence the Royal Navy had set up its base here in HMIS Circars.

1949 : Scindia Shipyard started. Later nationalised and called Hindustan Shipyard.

1957 : Refinery started by Caltex.


1957 : Light house re-built on Dolphin's Nose.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

1976 : Outer Harbour inaugurated.


1979 : Visakhapatnam upgraded to Municipal Corporation.


1981 : Visakhapatnam Steel Plant commenced operations.


2006 : Visakhapatnam Becomes Greater Visakhapatnam.

Visakhapatnam Timeline, Vizag Timeline